Liqcrytech sign La Junta


Liqcrytech sign La Junta, originally uploaded by Bound Staff Press.

It has been super busy in the studio. This time last month, I had just finished up cutting 150+ mats for a student show at the local junior college. One of my students was a big help. This year, I forgot to have my first semester students fill out all of the paperwork for the show before they left. That meant that I had to spend a late evening trying to get it all done before the deadline.

While at the show, I was approached by or local director of economic development. A company that had just moved to town needed a sign painted, and wanted to know if students would help with their project. I had envisioned bring the sign back to our studio space, and slowly creating a nice sign. As it turns out, the sign is quite attached in its current location. As a result, the students and I took a day off from school, and set up shop at Liqcrytech.

The night before, I cut out card-stock stencils of all the letters, and the outline of the liquid crystals, We covered the sign in contact paper, and carefully placed the stencils using spray adhesive. The students cut out all the letters and we started painting. It is pretty scary to see things before the stencils come off. We as a group came to the realization that freehand spray-painting was no for everyone. When the moment of truth arrived, we were all very relieved and satisfied with the project. Its not something I would go out and look for, but the students came away believing they could paint any sign. We also had a lot of fun, and a couple dozen donuts.

About Mr. Miller

I teach Visual Arts in La Junta, Colorado. I am also an artist and printmaker. But more importantly, I am a husband and father to a beautiful and inspiring family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

