Art Vocab Cards

Doug Allen’s Art Vocab Cards

Today we tried the critique process using Art Vocab Cards. My classes have seven students, so I selected sixteen of the cards that most applied to the work at hand. I passed out two cards to each student, then held two myself. I purposefully grouped the cards into elementary and conceptual terms.  Students received one of each and were asked to explain how this term was evident in at least one presented piece. As they selected work to match their cards, I had a chance to explain gaps in knowledge and challenge ideas that were either off-base or not well enough developed.

Students responded well to this activity. Because it forces everyone to contribute, I had excellent engagement. Students were very confident in their selections, and were willing to convince myself and others of their decisions. I consider today’s activity to be a great success. I will use these cards again for reinforcement with many of the same vocab words. I may include a written self evaluation to help students determine the best place to spend their energies.

I made an important personal realization. I don’t know that I have taught lessons about balance for a couple years. I have instructed students individually, but not as a group. Mostly, I think I approach balance intuitively. Today I was able to fill in this gap with the groups who participated. Looks like I have a goal for my self evaluation.

About Mr. Miller

I teach Visual Arts in La Junta, Colorado. I am also an artist and printmaker. But more importantly, I am a husband and father to a beautiful and inspiring family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

